Scandinavian For Value

"…but Scandinavian isn't even a language."

African Special

with 2 comments

This is a long overdue review, and I apologise for sitting on this product for as long as I have. Brace yourself for this, it is, to date, the most unusual product I have ever seen in a shop.  Are you ready for this?

Springbok Steaks.  Yes, springbok, that is not a typo.  For those of you unfamiliar with your even-toed ungulates of the Kalahari, here’s a picture.

What my tea came from.

I was in Lidl and they were having an African food promotion, so I had a look what they had.  I got an unusual fruit juice, which I’ll write about later (yes, another fruit-juice review), a type of tomato based sauce and then I saw these steaks.  My reaction was “I’m having those!”.  I used my mate Adam’s imminent birthday as justification for paying the rather costly £4.99 for them.

So, what does the box tell us? Frozen Springbok Steaks (an African speciality from Krause Meat) are brought to us by Krause Meat, a meat suppliers 30 miles south of Hamburg who supply beef, pork, lamb, venison, springbok and suckling pig.  Oh, and ostrich too.

Although not very clear under the logo in my piss-poor photography below is the statement “… gut gegessen  …bewusst ernahrt”.   This translates as “…well nourished …eaten consciously”.  That reassures me.  I like my meat products to come from animals that have had a good diet as opposed to malnourished emaciated ones, and also that I’m not expected to be in a coma when I eat them; not least because of the logistics involved.

The serving suggestion (or serveringsforslag for the Swedish) on the box depicts a plate with £20 worth of steak scattered with chilli seeds, some slices of what looks like mango, some balls of what I assume is a sort of stuffing and some cous-cous with pomegranate seeds.  All depicted with a backdrop of an African plain with a couple of giraffes and a 30ft tall ostrich, though no antelopes at all.

On the back, it suggests I either fry or barbecue the steaks.  So, being at my friend’s house, I let him do the handiwork and he elected to fry them once they had defrosted.

Shrink-wrapped? I wasn't expecting that, seeing they were frozen.

The box contains two good sized (about 6oz) shrink-wrapped steaks.  They looked like pale beef medallions, maybe venison coloured.  We cut the packet open and our primary observation was that they appeared to contain little, if any trace of fat whatsoever.  He heated the frying pan, added a tiny bit of oil and stuck them in.

They took about 10 minutes to fry all the way through.  Unlike beef which shrinks a bit with cooking, these actually seemed to get bigger.  Not having any mango, cous-cous or unidentifiable stuffing, we decided to eat them on their own.

Cooked and served up.

With yet more evidence of the lack of ability of my camera phone to focus, I present the cooked steaks.   Not being beef, we made sure they were cooked all the way through as advised on the box, rather than leaving a bit of pinkness in the middle.  They were remarkably tender for fried steak and indeed did not contain the slightest trace of fat at all.  I expected them to be a bit gamey like venison, but they tasted more like beef, but the best beef steak I have ever tasted, and I do not make that claim lightly.  They were truly divine.

Adam added a bit of ketchup on the side of his plate but in the end didn’t bother with it because the natural jus that came out of the meat was more than enough of a sauce.  Adam was as equally impressed as I was  and resolved to visit Lidl and get some more.

Being a promotion, they might no longer be available in stores though you may find them somewhere.  If you see them, then don’t hesitate to buy some.  In fact go now.  Now, go on, go cruise around the local Lidl/Aldi stores to see if you can find them.  Go on, well read the rest of this entry first at any rate.  I cannot recommend them enough.  The only thing that lets them down is the price, but then what price good steak?   Especially one that you can eat whilst conscious.

Scores:
Taste – 10/10
Succulence – 9/10
Value for Money – 8/10
Accuracy of packaging illustration  – 6/10
Novelty value of animal used – 8/10

Total:  41/50

Written by just1bloke

18 October 2011 at 4:06 pm

Posted in Meat Products

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. There used to be a butcher near where I live that did all sorts of ‘exotic’ meats. I’ve never had Springbok, but I have had Impala, Ostrich and Crocodile. I imagine Impala to be similar to Springbok. I wouldn’t recommend crocodile – it’s like a weird combination of meat and fish.

    Charlene

    18 October 2011 at 8:54 pm

    • They did have ostrich a while back, but I didn’t get them. I wish I had now.

      just1bloke

      18 October 2011 at 9:12 pm


Leave a Reply

