Scandinavian For Value

"…but Scandinavian isn't even a language."

Yellow stuff

with 4 comments

For some reason I have started to eat more toast than I used to.  It’s become my new snack of choice as a replacement for no snack at all.  So really I shouldn’t. But toast isn’t toast unless you can smear it in proper butter, not just some long-chain hydrocarbon such as “I Can’t Believe It’s Not Better” or the alternatives with similar plays on words based on the confusion with butter substitute.  None of which taste like butter at all.

So, I bought some Country Life, which was excellent.  After that had gone, I replaced it with some Tesco butter.  This wasn’t excellent. In fact, it should really have been called “I Can’t Believe It’s Not Margarine“.  It wasn’t much cop frankly.  It was rock hard and I had to soften it on the radiator first.  It would’ve been easier to spread a piece of solid candle wax.   I soldiered on through it though as I’m not the sort of person who’ll ditch something if there’s (technically) nothing wrong with it.  Eventually, it ran out and whilst in Netto purchasing the biscuits reviewed previously, I picked up a packet of “Hollybush Butter (fnaar)”.

Hollybush Butter

I will admit, the double entendre name was the deciding factor in buying this.  I’ll let you all decide what Hollybush Butter might be a euphemism for.

So, what does Hollybush Butter (fnaar fnaar) have to say for itself?  Well, the tagline is “A taste of luxury… at a price you can afford“.  A bold claim.  So, I loaded the toaster with bread and examined the packet some more.  It is also “Blended butter from more than one country”.  What the hell?  Are we not able to make enough butter in this country?  Are they importing the scrapings from the butter churns in other countries and mixing it together here?  I suspect this is the spreadable equivalent of a bar of soap you’ve made yourself by squeezing together all the little left-over slivers of soap in the bottom of the soap-dish.  Evans Rees (Butter) Ltd are the company behind Hollybush Butter (fnaar) and are based in Swansea.  Not in a lovely Welsh dairy, but in a brown unit on an industrial estate just off the M4.

However, on the side of the packet is this “Quality Guarantee”:

“If, despite all the care we have taken, this butter disappoints you in any way at the time of purchase, please return it to me in Swansea, giving the date purchased, and the name and address of the supplying Retailer.  I’ll refund your replacement value, including your postage.  Applies to UK Mainland only.”

Followed by a signature by ‘Russel Carman” (or thereabouts).  That is quite a personal guarantee.

So, the toaster pops, and I open the packet in order to sample it.  It is a very light yellow colour, the same shade as tooltips in the Windows OS.  I assume that’s what colour butter is supposed to be rather than some of the bright yellow examples I’ve had before.  The other thing that struck me was how soft it was.  It wasn’t particularly warm in the kitchen either, so it doesn’t seem softened by the heat.  It spread effortlessly, easier even than the Country Life.

The butter in action.

It was delicious.  Very buttery, salted but not oversalty, not greasy and very tasty indeed.  I was so impressed I loaded the toaster once more.  I heartily recommend giving this butter a go.  At 99p for 250g, it’s definitely worth it.  In comparison, Asda butter is £1.24 for 250g and Tesco is £1.14 for the same weight.  Country Life goes for £1.30 and Lurpak is £1.60.

Scores:
Taste – 8/10
Spreadability– 9/10
Colour – 7/10
Value For Money – 7/10
Impression Given by Packet– 6/10

Total:  38/50

Written by just1bloke

22 April 2011 at 8:47 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I really enjoy your reviews and your writing style treats the produce with justice. I am a big fan of Lidl but my wife is a but more choosy i.e. she thinks if you pay a lot more then a product will be better. We are having lasagne for tea, made with Jamie Oliver pasta however the pasta is really Lidl’s which has been placed a the Jamie Oliver box. I find this type of subterfuge most satisfying!

    hungrydave

    23 April 2011 at 11:47 am

  2. Notwithstanding the opinions towards these Eurostores, I’ve yet to try something that deserves that reputation.

    just1bloke

    23 April 2011 at 5:55 pm

  3. Thank you for a most intriguing and interesting review of our product Hollybush Butter. We are glad, that after you dissected our brand you finally enjoyed it. Best Regards Evan Rees (Butter) Ltd

    HOLLYBUSH BUTTER

    9 December 2011 at 10:48 am

  4. It sounds a good product at a good price, but I’m a bit confused by the wording of the “Quality Guarantee”:
    “….disappoints you in any way at the time of purchase…..” How would you know? The time of purchase is that bit where the person at the checkout tells you how much they want (the offer) and you give them that money (the acceptance of the offer), with the only leeway being where they’re getting your change – after that, the time of purchase is over. This is a very narrow window for you to operate your toaster and apply the butter with any certainty. Whilst the “Quality Guarantee” earns top marks for intent, I believe that it’s too narrow to be of much use legally….

    Ray Fenwick

    2 January 2013 at 11:02 am


Leave a Reply

