Scandinavian For Value

"…but Scandinavian isn't even a language."

Vitafit Orange Juice from concentrate

leave a comment »

Waiting at the bus stop yesterday, I decided to pop across the road into Lidl as I was thirsty.  I went for fruit juice as I wasn’t in the mood for something fizzy so I picked up a bottle of orange juice and a carton of exotic fruit juice.  First off, the orange juice.  In a glass bottle no less.  A glass bottle with an unusually wide neck and a curious flat metal cap.  It looks like a cross between a vase and something they’d give you in hospital to pee into.

Vitafit Orange Juice from concentrate

It claims that it has a fruit content of 100% and is “Rich in vitamin C“.  Also, “with 8% fruit pulp”.  As with chocolate, there are strict guidelines about what you can call orange juice, or orange drink, or orange juice drink or all sorts of variations.  If you’re so inclined to know more, it’s under the “Fruit Juices and Fruit Nectars Regulations 1977”.

Well, what else can the label tell us? A 200ml serving is just 82 calories and 76% of your RDA of vitamin C.  The ingredients comprise only of ‘orange juice from concentrate’.  Also, it seems Danish for orange juice is “Appelsinjuice“.  1 of your 5-a-day, suitable for vegetarians and no added colours etc.

So, after shaking the bottle I poured out a serving.

Glass of Vitafit Orange Juice

Apologies for the photograph, but my camera phone had trouble focussing on the glass.  If you email me, I’ll send you a ‘Quality Control’ sticker to put on your monitor.  The juice is a decent healthy colour, i.e. not fluorescent orange.  A lot of foods are colour enhanced to make them fit some sort of ideal.  For example, some chicken feed contains additives that make the yolk a really bright yellow, almost orange.  And tinned peas seemed to be mixed with luminous green paint.  It really isn’t necessary and I hate it.  I like my food to look like food, not like an artistic experiment into vivid colours.

It tasted very good, like proper good quality OJ.  It reminded me a bit of Don Simon orange juice, but less sharp.  I had expected it to be acidic, it seems that manufaturers of cheap OJ top it up with battery acid or something to give it that extra tang.  It never works though, I had some Asda Smart Price OJ recently and it dissolved my fillings and left my tongue feeling like I had been licking ice-lollies made from Mr Muscle.  This is nothing like that, it isn’t sharp and so you can actually taste the orange in it.

That 8% fruit pulp is certainly noticeable and if like me you prefer your OJ with bits in, then you’re going to love this.  Any higher pulp content and it would become an orange based gazpacho.

Summing up, Vitafit Orange Juice is a cracking OJ, very pulpy if you like it and quite mellow for a citrus juice.  However, at 75p for 750ml it isn’t in the cheaper price bracket for OJ, and there are cheaper ones out there, but this is far from a low quality juice that doesn’t taste of oranges at all and that lifts the value for money score.

Scores:
Taste – 7/10
Texture – 8/10
Value for Money – 8/10
Unusual Containerness – 5/10
Tongue Friendliness – 9/10

Total:  37/50

Written by just1bloke

15 April 2011 at 11:37 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

