Scandinavian For Value

"…but Scandinavian isn't even a language."

What is this?

with 4 comments

SFV  is a useful consumer resource for the busy people, mainly students and pensioners, who believe there are cheaper options for their weekly shop and want to eschew the main supermarkets such as Tesco, Asda, Fortnum & Mason and Sainsbury in favour of the yellow-fronted European stores that have sprung up in this country in the last 15 years.

Aldi, Netto and Lidl are such stores.  These offer as large a range of products as any supermarket, well maybe not as large, but you can certainly get all your regular provisions.  If you want something like pickled quail eggs, Himalayan Rhododendron honey* or Vietnamese curry paste then you really ought to looking elsewhere.

The layout in these stores is unusual and there is an blatant air of stockroom to them.  Whereas in Asda, Tesco et al the goods are well merchandised, labels facing forward and so on, in Aldi, Netto and Lidl (ANL)  the shelving is basic and in a lot of cases, stuff is often stacked on the floor.  The other thing that hits you when entering is that there are a lot of brands you will have never heard of before.  It’s like going shopping when you’re on a self-catering holiday abroad.  You pick something up and think ‘is this canned tuna?  Is it a decent brand?  Dare I buy it to test it?’.

That’s where SFV comes in.  We test the unknown and unusual brands from ANL so you can be sure whether ‘Heinz’ or ‘Wilsson Fayre**’  are the best beans for your toast.

*    Himalayan Rhododendron honey is allegedly toxic.
** Fictional brand of baked beans

Written by just1bloke

13 April 2011 at 9:58 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I read literally all of this, and now I’m slightly hungry. I applaud the due diligence which took place to bring this to us.

    Maxley

    22 April 2011 at 3:24 pm

    • These yellow-fronted Eurostores have surprised me. I need to find a local Aldi for balance.

      just1bloke

      22 April 2011 at 5:00 pm

  2. Nothing cheers me up more than my weekend trip to Aldi where we play ‘spot the out of place posh car’ first (an 09 plate Bentley being the winner so far), then keeping a lookout for people obviously visiting for the first time.

    Still, the more the merrier, and as long as my local Aldi still sells 39p packs of garlic sausage, I’ll be happy.

    npfiii

    23 April 2011 at 4:52 pm

  3. Am thinking of moving to Norway or Sweden; I was worried about the cost of grocery shopping…so, thinking, searched ‘Aldi in Scandinavia’. I’m not worried now! It is no compromise to shop there, the quality of everything is in my opinion better. From Rich Tea Biscuits 39p which whoop the family favourites of 4 generations McVities on price, texture and flavour (can’t even bare a McVitie’s any more), MANUKA honey 10+ £3.99! 15+ £4.99!!! It’s normally 3× that price. I’ve tested it on various ails, it’s active i.e. highly effective.
    I count on the quality of their non-brands just as I used to believe in the accepted brands. Whilst Aldi keeps it simple and economic the others confuse me with price comparison schemes and loyalty points which get sent to old addresses and websites which won’t accept my password or postcode! Just make it reliably good, and value for money, and I’m in!
    Not just cheaper, better; I was saying. The washing up liquid, is another example. Thick, long lasting, nice aromas/variety. 69p more or less and IS ACTUALLY kind to hands, even on on hypersensitive skin. Ask my daughter who’d even sought medical advice for her scaly, itchy red hands. Brands cost more, and don’t make your hands as soft as your face. BTW the doctor couldn’t help! Threw some useless cream at the issue, Aldi helped. We switched from F-brand to non-brand, hands better.
    The nappies perform better than Pampers and Huggies, plus they dont make you recoil from their chemical real, rarely overflow, and are 30℅ cheaper by my memory and maths. Albeit the last two packs didn’t perform so well, which makes me wonder if Aldi’s supplier has changed (maybe Pampers and Huggies bought them out!) .
    So many more comparisons but it isn’t necessary to go on, and don’t even get me started about Lidls amazing deli! No Netto experience to speak of, so I’ll rest my case.

    Caroline Channing

    2 February 2014 at 7:04 am


Leave a Reply

