Scandinavian For Value

"…but Scandinavian isn't even a language."

Muffins

with one comment

Walking past Lidl yesterday, I thought I’d pop and get something for afters (I won’t say dessert, it sounds too clinical for my liking).  I spotted a pack of four muffins.

"Northwood" 4 Chocolate Chip Muffins

Never heard of the Northwood brand before, and seem to be a Lidl brand, but I thought ‘muffins are muffins, what can go wrong’?’  So I bought them, along with a bag of sweeties which will appear in another review.

As with all packaging, what you see most certainly isn’t what you get.  But in this case, Northwood have been refreshingly honest.  They declare “Giant Muffins with Chunky Chocolate Chips“.  I don’t know what constitutes as giant in muffin circles, but these were almost 8cm high and about 7cm across the crown.  Their depiction of how many chocolate chips are inside the muffin is remarkably accurate too.  Actually the picture below isn’t a good representation as it shows a large void of no chocolate chips.

Inside a Northwood Chocolate Chip Muffin.

I dismembered the muffiny goodness and my investigations showed that there were about 5-6 chocolate chips per cubic inch.  Now, the chips weren’t chunks of chocolate like you’d find in Asda Muffins, they were the common or garden chocolate chip of the kind you’d buy your kids to take to cookery class when they’re making cookies.

According to the ingredients, they comprise 17% chocolate chips.  The ingredients also list a staggering quantity of additives, all of which are given their rather scary and lengthy IUPAC chemical names.  Propylene Glycol would have sufficed for one of the emulsifiers, but Propane-1,2-Diol?  If I saw a tanker lorry jack-knife on the motorway and it said Propane-1,2-Diol on the side, I would run away as it sounds highly flammable, would strip my flesh and turn my car bumpers white.

Anyway, the muffins themselves were as tasty as the ones I usually buy from Asda.  I was expecting the chocolate chips to taste a bit cheap and nasty, and there was a hint of cooking rather than eating chocolate taste to them and that has cost them marks, but it shouldn’t put you off.  They could have been ever so slightly moister too though a dribble of custard would fix that problem.

The best bit is that they are only 99p for 4.  Excellent I say, given the size and the amount of chocolate chips within.

Scores:
Texture – 7/10
Taste – 6/10
Accuracy of packaging 8/10
Value for Money  8/10
Muffinyness  8/10

Total: 37/50

Written by just1bloke

13 April 2011 at 11:35 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi, Yes you are right Propane-1,2-diol is flammable. But it is a viscous liquid of a similar constituency to chocolate syrup. So you could probably get away with a brisk walk away from a jackknifed lorry of the stuff.

    Willenium_from_B3ta

    23 April 2011 at 4:40 pm


Leave a Reply

